top of page

DLSW Prism make short work of PACC to win Quaid I Azam Trophy

The Two Day games between Sai Wan and Pakistan Association have had some very exciting and nail biting games, this year was not the same. Pakistan Association suffered a major set back as their star player Tanvir Afzal was not available due to an injury sustained during Hong Kong National Team's recent tour. Also DLSW are coming in with lot of their players in good form and were keen to win back the trophy by getting an outright win.

Day 1

Saturday 24th December 2016 at Mission Road. Eshan Khan Captain for DLSW Prism calls correctly and wins the toss and decides to Bat first. The first goal is to get a lead in first innings and put on a big score to put pressure on Pakistan Association.

Amandeep Singh and Aftab Hussain got the opportunity to open the batting and take their time to get a start. However both departed and the score was 47/2. Barbar Hayat having a great run of scores in Premier League cricket this season was joined at the crease by Wakas Khan. They put up a partnership of 135 runs of 182 balls. Barbar was was the dominant partner scoring 74 of the runs. Wakas Khan fell short of a well deserved half century by one run scoring 49 runs off 80 balls. Eshan Khan then came in and continued the good work. Barbar got his century and scored 121 runs off 148 balls including 5 sixes. Once Barbar was out Eshan Khan stayed not out on 69 runs taking the score to 324/7 in 68 overs before deciding to declare the innings.

The Pakistan Association had 23 overs to survive before the end of day. However these were enough for DLSW Prism to do the damage and had PACC 5 down with 36 runs on the board. DLSWCC were truly in the driving seat

Day 2

On Sunday 25th December, the fine weather continued and DLSW Prism quickly finished of the PACC innings with 56 all out in 28.3 overs. Only 3 bowlers were used in Prism's bowling innings with Haseeb Amjad claim 5 wickets for 29 runs and Nadeem Ahmed claiming 4 wickets for only 2 runs in his 8.3 overs.

In a surprise move DLSWCC decided to bat first instead of asking PACC to follow on. The Aim was to bat 30odd overs and look for quick runs. DLSW Prism managed to get 161 runs for 7 wickets in 36 overs. Eshan Khan got another half century with 57 runs.

By now the trophy was secured with DLSWCC with a first innings lead. PACC had to survive around 40 overs to at least draw the game. The Prism team was high on confidence and attacked from the first ball even when they gave the ball to U19 player Karandeep Singh. The PACC were under big pressure and cracked again. Haseeb Amjad picked up another 4 wickets while Nadeem Ahmed picked up 3 wickets. Karandeep had 2 wickets. PACC were all out for 75 runs in 18.3 overs.

DLSWCC has won the game by a massive 354 runs. A complete one sided match. The Quaid-I-Azam trophy was presented by the Consul General of Pakistan in Hong Kong. While the umpires decided on Barbar Hayet as the Man of the Match for his century.

The trophy is back with Diasqua Little Sai Wan.

This Sunday

DLSWCC celebrates the new year with a Premier League One Day Game against Pakistan Association on 1st January. The only game of the weekend.

The DLSW Prism Selectors have announced the following squad for the match.

  1. Amandeep Singh

  2. Hiren Patel

  3. Babar Hayat (Vice Captain)

  4. Moner Dar

  5. Ehsan Khan (Captain)

  6. Shahid Wasif (WK)

  7. Jangzeb Khan

  8. Aftab Ahmed

  9. Mudassar Hussain

  10. Khan Waqas

  11. Nadeem Ahmed

  12. Haseeb Muhammad

  13. Haseeb Amjad

  14. Mohammad Osama

Coach: Ghulam Saqlain Manager: Saqiib Mehmood

Wishing all DLSWCC Members a Happy New Year!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page