top of page

DLSW Wasps End Season as Sixes Runners Up with a 7 run loss in the Final

DLSWCC Team entered the HKCA Women's Sixes event this year as defending champions.

Women’s Sixes – Day One (17th April, 2016)

There were runs and wickets aplenty in the opening day of the 2015-16 Women’s Sixes being played at PKVR Reservoir on Sunday, 17th April 2016.

HKCC and CCC are the two unbeaten teams after the first day’s play while DLSW had one win and one loss. The KCC and USRC teams are yet to register a win.

The second match saw DLSW account for KCC by four wickets. Keenu Gill, Reenu Gill and Renee Montgomery all reached double figures in KCC’s innings of 4/42 but three run-outs hurt their chances. Shanzeen Shahzad made good use of the short third-man boundary in scoring a quick-fire 20 that helped DLSW to victory in 3.5 overs.

There was an exciting finish to the day’s play with CCC beating last year’s champions DLSW by two runs. The CCC openers Kary Chan (18) and Pull To (20) put on 54 runs for the first wicket as CCC posted the day’s highest score of 2/61. DLSW’s reply started well enough with Shanzeen Shahzad striking three boundaries. However when she retired, CCC came back into the game as the other DLSW batters couldn’t sustain the run-rate. Sacrificing their wickets so that Shanzeen could come back to bat, DLSW reached 5/50 with two balls remaining. Shanzeen returned to the crease and struck the penultimate ball for six but she failed to connect cleanly on the last ball and the DLSW innings finished on 5/59. Shanzeen finished unbeaten on 31, the day’s individual highest score.

Women’s Sixes – Day Three (8th May, 2016)

As Day 2 was washed out a third day was added and it was a long, hot, third day was at PKVR Reservoir with nine games played in the Women’s Sixes.

There was a thrilling finish to the first day’s match with HKCC beating DLSWCC by one run. HKCC batted first and found themselves two wickets down after the first two balls of the game but they recovered well to reach 4/39 from their five overs with Katy Gibbons hitting 22 not out while Maryam Bibi claimed 2/11 for DLSWCC. DLSWCC made hard work of their chase and they still needed nine runs off the last over. However, Alvina Tam grabbed two wickets and DLSWCC could only score seven, with the last wicket falling as the batsmen tried to scramble a third run to tie the game.

Game three was equally one-sided as DLSWCC beat USRC by five wickets. USRC batted first and they reached 1/33 with Rajni hitting 13. Rajni grabbed a wicket in the second innings too, but DLSWCC’s batting was too strong and they knocked off the runs in 3.3 overs with Shanzeen Shahzad hitting 23 before retiring.

On to the play-offs and a count-back of runs scored saw CCC the top ranked team on the same points as HKCC with three wins apiece while DLSWCC and KCC finished third and fourth respectively having won two and lost two matches each.

In the first semi-final, DLSWCC scored an impressive victory over HKCC. Good bowling by the DLSWCC team restricted HKCC to 1/42 with Katy Gibbons hitting 12*. Shanzeen hit the day’s first six in her innings of 21 retired and Mehreen hit two boundaries in her 10* as DLWCC scored the winning runs in 3.5 overs.

The second semi-final saw CCC over-turn their earlier loss to KCC to win easily by six wickets. KCC batted first but they could only make 0/36 from their five overs with Keenu Gill hitting 21*. Kary Chan hit 17* and Pull To scored 18* as CCC eased to victory in 3.4 overs without loss.

On to the grand final where DLSWCC won the toss and elected to bowl first against CCC. They had immediate success with CCC’s skipper Pull To bowled by Maryam Bibi off the first ball of the game. However, CCC recovered well and they finished on 4/47 off their five overs with Kary Chan hitting 14*. DLSWCC’s Shanzeen Shahzad hit the first ball of the chase for four but she fell to a good catch in the deep off the last ball of the first over. Jaswinder hit 14* for DLSWCC but a brilliant last over by Kary Chan in which three wickets fell for just three runs saw CCC crowned winners by seven runs.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page