top of page

DLSW Sarjan and Spartans qualify for Saturday League Playoffs

Both Saturday Teams, DLSW Sarjan and DLSW Spartans headed into their respective league playoffs.

DLSW Sarjan Match Reports

Vs Cantaurs

On 19th December 2015, The DLSW Sarjan wrapped up an easy win against Centaurs. Centaurs batted first scoring 145/4 in their 35 overs. The Sarjan openers Mohammad Ibraheem and Aftab Hussain took the team home in the 23rd over with 10 wickets to spare. Both of them were unbeaten with half centuries each.

Match Summary: Centaurs 145/5 lost to DLSW Sarjan 146/0 (M Ibraheem 73*, A Hussain 52*) by 10 Wickets

Vs KCC Tarters

On 23rd January 2016, DLSW Sarjan had another win this time a much closer 20 run victory over KCC Tarters at the Kowloon Cricket Club

DLSW Sarjan batted first and scores 242/7 in their 35 overs on the back of another Shahid Wasif hundred of the season. Shahid scored 154 not out, coming in at number 4 for DLSW Sarjan team.

KCC Tarters were all out for 222 in the 35th over with Karandeep Singh picking up 3 wickets for 38 runs while Saqib Mahmood claiming 3 wickets for 30 runs.

Match Summary: DLSW Sarjan 242/7 (Shahid Wasif 154*) beat KCC Tarters 222 all out (K Singh 3/38, Saqib Mahmood 3/30) by 20 Runs

Vs KCC Crusaders

On 13th February, at Kowloon Cricket Club, KCC Saracens defeated DLSWCC Sarjan by six wickets. Batting first after winning the toss, DLSWCC Sarjan scored 7/166 from their 35 overs with Aftab Hussain hitting 36. Saracens’ skipper Sunny Bhimsaria top-scored with 73 not out in his team’s reply, which included a 67-run third wicket partnership with Ansh Lulla, who scored 31. Saracens scored the winning runs in 32.2 overs for the loss of four wickets. At KCC: DLSWCC Sarjan 7/166 from 35 overs lost to KCC Saracens 4/167 from 32.2 overs by six wickets.

Play offs vs KCC Tarters

In the first match of the playoffs, it was a tight finish at Kowloon Cricket Club on 27th February 2016, KCC Tartars gave themselves some breathing space above the relegation zone by beating DLSWCC Sarjan by 13 runs.

Tartars batted first after winning the toss and they have Ateeq ul Rehman to thank for them recovering from a precarious 6/70 to reach 8/163 after 35 overs. Rehman top scored with 44 not out.

Rehman then completed a great double by claiming 5/28 as DLSWCC Sarjan’s reply was restricted to 9/150. Top scorer for the visitors was their captain Harpreet Singh with 50.

At KCC: KCC Tartars 8/163 from 35 overs beat DLSWCC Sarjan 9/150 from 35 overs by 13 runs.

Next Match

The DLSW Sarjan plays Centaurs in their 2nd Playoff match. The match will be held at Mission Road on 19th March 2016

DLSW Spartans Match Reports

DLSW Spartans has two exciting games so far in 2016 as they qualified for the Division 2 Playoffs.

Vs Taipans CC

In Division 2 action at Mission Road on 13th February 2016, Taipan CC maintained their unbeaten run this season with a narrow victory over DLSWCC Spartans.

Spartans batted first after winning the toss and they reached 9/204 from their 35 overs with Muhammad Haseeb scoring 74 while Haroon Arshad contributed 30. The pair combined in a fifth wicket partnership worth 60 runs. For Taipans, Hassan Khan claimed 4/41 from six overs while Manjinder Singh picked up 3/34 from his seven.

Amanat Khan picked up three wickets as Taipans were reduced to 6/77 in reply. However Taipans’ lower order batsmen Dharam Singh (41), Hassan Khan (31) and Jagmeet Brar (31) combined well to get them over the line in the last over with the last pair at the crease. For DLSWCC Spartans, Amanat Khan finished with 4/42 from his seven overs.

At Mission Road: DLSWCC Spartans 9/204 from 35 overs lost to Taipan CC 9/208 from 34.5 overs by one wicket.

Vs Laguna Gully

At the time of this game the Division 2 play-off places were still unclear and there were still a handful of round-robin games to be played before the top five/bottom five places could be determined. This match therefore was very important for the Spartans to win and the DLSWCC Spartans improved their chances of reaching the top five with a narrow victory over Laguna Gully on the astro at PKVR Park in a match reduced to 33 overs per team.

Spartans elected to bat first after winning the toss but they were rocked early with both openers falling without scoring off the bowling of Shubham Mehta. Mehta grabbed a third early wicket but some solid middle order batting by Suresh Pandey (44) and Amanat Khan (34) got Spartans to 8/188 from their 33 overs. Mehta finished with the best bowling figures for Laguna Gully with 3/10 off three overs.

In reply, Laguna Gully was travelling well at 2/120 thanks to a half-century from opening batsman Mangesh Mulgaonkar. However, Mulgaonkar’s wicket triggered a dramatic batting collapse and Laguna Gully slipped to 181 all out. Shekhar Sharma also scored 33 for Laguna Gully.

At PKVR Park: DLSWCC Spartans 8/188 from 33 overs beat Laguna Gully 181 from 33 overs by seven runs


Next up for DLSW Spartans is a playoff match against USRC / MCC at PKVR Park on 19th March 2016. Each match is now crucial for the team in attempt to gain a silverware for the club this season

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page